Biracial Butterfly

WEEK 8: Biracial Hapas

WHAT at Hawaii being the international destination but whatever. A massive improvement from the shoots we had the past few weeks. I kind of like the concept of the shoot, they had to portray women with mixed heritage. Even though I like it, I think it was a bit ridiculous no model would ever have to alter their complexion like this for a photoshoot, because the client would just hire someone with the particular skin tone if they wanted a shoot like this. I saw some comments about the shoot that it was somewhat like an attack, indirect racism. I don’t particularly agree with that I mean I don’t think Tyra had any hidden intention. The clothes they wore looked good on almost all with the exception of Sundai and maybe Laura too. Top 2 this week are very close for me. I love both of their shots so much. For the elimination, it was not that sad, but to think that someone is doing worse, she should not have gone home.

1) Erinerinwagner6Really, bottom two? Whatever judges! I get that Erin was kind of being immature or ungrateful the past few weeks, and the judges thought she should work on her personality, but I would get past that with an art like this. The simplicity and raw feel of this shot just blows me away. I love her face here, it’s very subtle but still has that spice- the fire or anger that we usually see in Erin’s eyes very mixed but not half-assed. Her eyes are talking to me she’s definitely giving off a story in this picture. She looks like a tribe’s queen, her pose screams protective and very secure. The black hair looks amazing on her and the dark skin does not even look fake. Her pose is somewhat similar to her pose in the fabric shoot so I guess doing that suits her. A very simple and soft shot indeed but very striking, almost queen of peace. This photo is brilliant for me, and damn it’s a shame this wasn’t that much appreciated in panel.

2)Nicolenicolefox5You’re probably thinking “Why the hell is Nicole just second?,”. Just because it’s second doesn’t mean I don’t love it. I also love this shot and it a very tight race between her and Erin. This is a very dramatic shot. If Erin was queen of peace, I see this as queen of hope. Her gaze is very dreamy, I love that she’s staring upward and not just looking upward it’s like she believes so much that there’s still hope. Her face to me is ethereal here very haunting in a good way. Her body, despite the loose dress, still managed to create shapes. The geisha inspired dress she has on does not flatter her, but she makes it look good on her, if it was on somebody else it would’ve probably look tacky. The motion in the hair looks lovely too and her hands look cute. An all around great shot still.

3) Jenniferjenniferan5A very tiny drop of quality from the art of Erin and Nicole but I still love this. I love the serenity I get from this picture, even just by staring at it, if you don’t think much this will make you feel calm, put you in a place of peace and certainty.. Her profile here is gorgeous I love how she hid her gimpy eye and bone structure looks good too. Another is that I like that she is also selling the necklace in an indirect way. She looks very young here like a teenager and it makes me like this more. It’s like she’s a part of a tribe and she’s just learning about life, you can form a lot of stories from this picture. Very simple but will definitely leave you a mark.

4) Lauralaurakirkpatrick5Very ancient Greek. I still like this shot but this is a massive drop from Jennifer’s shot. I’m going to start with the parts I like in this photograph. I am very intrigued with her face. It seems as if she’s longing for something and she just stares away because she knows she will never get it but it draws me in. But in the long shot, I don’t understand what she’s going for. I dislike her left hand here. It looks so short and it appears as scarcely thin. I don’t get why she’s like reaching for the stick in her right hand, and lastly I don’t get why her legs are open that wide. From the chest above, it looks great, but down below is a disaster.

5) Brittany (Eliminated)brittanymarkert4I get that in the commercial and in this shot, it is very obvious that Brittany is very technical. But it’s a shame to eliminate someone for that when they are just trying to please you ( April 😦 ). Her pose is like a modern take on tribes she looks very confident here, I quite like the pose although it’s a bit catalogue. Her face looks lovely too, the shape and her bone structure looks alive here. Even though the dress does not do much justice to Brittany I like that she still somehow managed to create a shape with it. In many ways this is better than Laura’s shot. But I just don’t get anything from here, she’s just modeling, she’s not trying to incorporate any story here.The fact that this is in sepia does not help too. A strong shot, but lacks impact.

6) Sundaisundailove5Sundai went to a different route… in a bad way, but what’s new? If I didn’t get Laura’s body, well I don’t get Sundai’s face and body. Why is she staring at the sky in a very rude manner? She’s raising her eyebrow and she’s pouting so much at the sky, why are you doing that? Her pose is commanding so it matches the face but the scenery is soft, why you do that, why? She even looks like a midget here, her legs look ultra short and it’s painfully obvious. She had the best dress and she’s not doing it justice. This is a very weird shot for me and how she escaped the bottom two with a horrendous shot like this is beyond me, please go home Sundai.

AVERAGES:

Nicole (2.4) 1/5/2/2/5/1/1/2
Erin (2.8) 6/1/1/1/4/3/6/1
Laura (3.6) 5/3/5/5/1/2/4/4
Rae (4.2) 2/4/7/3/2/5/7- (Eliminated Week 7)
Brittany(5.0) 9/2/10/4/3/4/3/5- (Eliminated Week 8)
Courtney (5.0) 3/7- (Eliminated Week 2)
Jennifer (5.4) 4/9/3/8/8/6/2/3
Kara (6.8) 10/6/4/7/7/7- (Eliminated Week 6)
Sundai (8.0) 14/11/8/6/6/8/5/6
Lulu (8.0) 7/8/9- (Eliminated Week 3)
Bianca (8.8) 8/12/6/9- (Eliminated Week 4)
Ashley (10.2) 11/10/11/10/9- (Eliminated Week 5)
Rachel (12.0) 12- (Eliminated Week 2)
Lisa (13.0) 13- (Eliminated Week 1)

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Brittany and Nicole’s pictures <333 I totally ger your love for Erin's picture but she'd get 4th CO for me personally, after Brittany, Nicole, and Jennifer, respectively. One of my fave photoshoots on ANTM for sure.

    Reply
  2. Andrew

     /  May 27, 2016

    Nicole’s picture is by far the best for me, probably even my favourite shot of this very season. My call-out is similar to Nyan’s, just swap Nicole and Brittany, and there you have it.

    Reply
  3. Ynaves

     /  June 2, 2016

    UO: This Jenn’s pic is best photo of her entire portfolio.I would rank her second.#sorrynotsorryNicole

    Reply
  4. Tbh, i’d love Jenn place second/first. Its the best photo of her portfolio on the show,so far

    Reply

Leave a comment

My ANTM Rankings

Rankings for ANTM, one cycle at a time!

alltopmodel

hot ass mess

Nyan's Blog

Top Model Turned RuPaul's Drag Race Blog

JK's NTM Blog

Just because you're a model, doesn't mean you're fashion.